Step Back in Time

Narembeen is rich in history and heritage, step back in time as you discover the many hidden treasures that Narembeen has to offer.

 Church

St Paul’s Museum

Located on Longhurst St, the St Paul’s Museum was consecrated in 1929 and opened as a museum for the Historical Society in 1969.  After restoration in 1999 it re-opened as a Church Museum.  It is a memorial to the pioneer women of the Narembeen district.

IMG_4702

History Museum

Located in the Old Road Board Building, near the Town Hall on Latham Road, this museum contains a visual history of the district and includes photographs of early pioneer farming practices.  Family files are also kept here, it has proven to be a great source of information about our locals.

IMG_4799 IMG_4802

History & Machinery Museum

Located on Savage Street, this museum contains an interesting mix of photos and antiques from our pioneers.  Browse through the outdoor machinery museum displaying old farm machinery and farming implements.

IMG_1305

Old Prospector’s Trail

This short, self-drive tour starts west of Narembeen at Dayman Rd, follow the signs and be transported back to the early days when sandalwood cutters and gold prospectors travelled this trail in search of riches.  Interpretive displays, old water wells, reconstructed prospector’s camp, prospector’s barrow, amazing scenic lookout and undisturbed landscapes are part of this must do short loop.The self-drive tour is 38km and is not suitable for caravans.  The roads are subject to flooding, so please contact the Shire of Narembeen on (08) 9064 7308 for current road conditions.

IMG_4824

Spotter’s Post/War Museum

Located on Longhurst Street next to the Shire of Narembeen administration office is the Spotter’s Post, built in 1942 for the purpose of spotting enemy aircraft during WWII.  In 1945 the Narembeen branch of the Sailor’s, Soldier’s, Airmen and Nurse’s Father’s Association of WA met at the building.  In 1946 the building was converted for use as an Infant Health Clinic.  In more recent times the Narembeen Toy Library has utilised the building.  In 2015, the Spotter’s Post was opened as a War Museum to celebrate the Centenary of ANZAC.

IMG_0875

Rabbit Proof Fence – Gate 54

Located approximately 70kms east of Narembeen, the fence stretches from Port Hedland to Ravensthorpe, spanning a distance of 1,827km.  It was originally erected between 1901 and 1907 to prevent invading rabbits and other vermin entering the grain growing region.  Much of the fence has undergone maintenance and some of the original fence remains today.  An interesting place to visit.


South Kumminin Pioneer Information Site

Located approximately 24kms south of Narembeen on the Narembeen-Kondinin Rd where the townsite of South Kumminin was once located.  The information site provides a restful stop for visitors travelling through the district.  The information bay contains pictorial and written information relating to South Kumminin and its pioneers.  A project undertaken by the Narembeen Historical Society.

For tours or further information:- Narembeen Community Resource Centre T: (08) 9064 7055 E: crcmanager@narembeen.wa.gov.au