

SHIRE OF NAREMBEEN

Unconfirmed Minutes for the Annual Electors' Meeting

2nd November 2017

Our Mission: A rural community working together to create a great place to live, attain a safe, healthy and creative environment, which achieves sustainable and innovative development and economic opportunities.



Our Values: Respect, Inclusiveness, Fairness & Equity, Communication

MINUTES

Shire of Narembeen Annual Electors' Meeting Wednesday 2nd November 2017, commencing at 6.03pm

1.0 Opening & Recording of those Present

6.03pm – The Shire President, Cr Rhonda Cole, welcomed everyone to the meeting and declared the meeting open.

Councillors

Cr Rhonda Cole Presiding Person
Cr Kellie Mortimore President

Cr Amy Hardham Member
Cr Bevan Thomas Member
Cr Alan Wright Member
Cr Peter Lines Member

Shire Staff

Chris Jackson Chief Executive Officer

Bonnie Cole Executive Manager Corporate Services (minute taker)

General Public

Mr Ian Mortimore Elector
Ms Rhonda Hickey Elector
Ms Lorraine Lethlean Elector

2.0 Apologies

Cr Scott Stirrat Member
Cr Bill Cowan Member

3.0 Receiving of Minutes of Previous Electors' Meeting

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Minutes of the Meeting of the Shire of Narembeen Annual Electors' Meeting held Wednesday 21st December 2016 be received as a true and accurate record of the proceedings.

RESOLUTION

MOTION – Moved Cr. K Mortimore 2nd Cr. A Hardham

That the Minutes of the Meeting of the Shire of Narembeen Annual Electors' Meeting held Wednesday 21st December 2016 be received as a true and accurate record of the proceedings.

CARRIED 9/0

4.0 Business Arising from Previous Minutes

Business Arising from the Minutes of the Shire of Narembeen Annual Electors' Meeting held on Wednesday 21st December 2016.

Note: As required by the Local Government Act, the minutes were presented to the February 2017 Ordinary Meeting of Council, with no action required.

5.0 President's Report (as attached in Annual Report)

RECOMMENDATION:

That the President's Report for 2016/2017 be received.

RESOLUTION

MOTION – Moved Cr. A Wright 2nd Cr. A Hardham

That the President's Report for 2016/2017 be received.

CARRIED 9/0

6.0 Chief Executive Officer's Report (as attached in Annual Report)

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Chief Executive Officer's Report for 2016/2017 be received.

RESOLUTION

MOTION – Moved Cr. B Thomas 2nd Cr. P Lines

That the Chief Executive Officer's Report for 2016/2017 be received.

CARRIED 9/0

7.0 Annual Report (see attached)

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Annual Report for 2016/2017 be received.

RESOLUTION

MOTION – Moved Cr. P Lines 2nd Cr. A Wright

That the Annual Report for 2016/2017 be received.

CARRIED 9/0

8.0 Auditor's Report (as attached in Annual Report)

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Auditor's Report for 2016/2017 be received.

RESOLUTION

MOTION – Moved Cr. K Mortimore 2nd Cr. A Hardham

That the Auditor's Report for 2016/2017 be received.

CARRIED 9/0

9.0 General Business

• Cr Lines

- Asked what the current population of the Narembeen Shire is.
- The Shire President advised it currently stood at approximately 809 and had remained fairly stable for the past few years.

Cr Wright

- As a new Councillor, Cr Wright wanted it recorded that thanks was given to all Councillors for their efforts over the last 12 months.
- In particular he wished to acknowledge the efforts of recently retired Councillors Gina DeLuis, Syd Parsons and especially Stephen Padfield.

Lorraine Lethlean

- Thank you to Council and all staff for their support of the Narembeen Historical Society and in particular the inclusion of its members in assisting with the development of the Lesser Hall Interpretation Centre.
- The Shire President thanked Lorraine for her comments and also acknowledged the work of the members of the Historical Society.

10.0 Closure

There being no further business the Chair thanked those in attendance and declared the meeting closed at 6.18pm and invited all present for refreshments at the bar.