

Minutes for the Special Council Meeting

18 October 2021

COUNCIL CALENDAR		
Date	Time	Meeting
18 October 2021	4.00pm	Special Meeting of Council

MEETING GUESTS

Stephen Padfield, Honorary Freeman



Contents

1.0	OPENING AND WELCOME	3
2.0	SWEARING IN	3
3.0	ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES	
4.0	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	
5.0	PUBLIC QUESTION TIME AND DEPUTATION (15 MINUTES)	
6.0	AGENDA ITEMS	
	6.1 Seating Arrangements – by ballot	5
	OTHER BUSINESS	5
8.0	CLOSURE	5

MINUTES

Shire of Narembeen Special Meeting of Council Monday 18 October 2021, commencing at 4.00pm

1.0 Opening and Welcome

The Executive Manager Corporate Services and Deputy Returning Officer, Miss T Clarkson welcomed everyone to the meeting and declared the meeting open at 4.00pm.

2.0 Swearing In

The Executive Manager Corporate Services, Miss T Clarkson invited Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP to undertake the Swearing In Ceremony for the newly elected councillors.

Newly Elected Councillors

Reading of the Oath

Cr S Stirrat read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP.

Cr H Cusack read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP.

Cr M Currie read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP.

Cr T Cole read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP.

Cr C Bray read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP.

In the absence of the Chief Executive Officer, Mr D Blurton, Miss T Clarkson requested Council to appoint the Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield Padfield JP as the Returning Officer for the election of President and Deputy President.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

MIN 7277/21 MOTION - Moved Cr. K Mortimore 2nd Cr. W Milner

That the Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP assume the position of Returning Officer to undertake the election of President and Deputy President.

CARRIED 7/0

Election of President

Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP called for nominations for President.

Cr C Bray nominated Cr K Mortimore, who accepted the nomination.

As no further nominations were received, Cr K Mortimore was duly elected to the position of President.

Election of Deputy President

Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield JP called for nominations for Deputy President.

Cr K Mortimore nominated Cr S Stirrat, who accepted the nomination.

As no further nominations were received, Cr S Stirrat was duly elected to the position of Deputy President.

Reading of the Oath - Cr K Mortimore

Cr K Mortimore read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield, JP.

Reading of the Oath – Cr S Stirrat

Cr S Stirrat read the Declaration by Elected Member, the ceremony was conducted by Hon Freeman, Mr S Padfield, JP.

With the elections being undertaken, Cr K Mortimore assumed the position of Chair.

3.0 Attendance and Apologies

Attendance

Councillors

Cr Kellie Mortimore Shire President, Presiding Person

Cr Scott Stirrat Deputy Shire President

Cr Warren Milner Member
Cr Holly Cusack Member
Cr Michael Currie Member
Cr Trevor Cole Member
Cr Chris Bray Member

Staff

Tamara Clarkson Executive Manager Corporate Services

Sheree Thomas Economic Development Officer

Salma Khan Corporate Services Officer (minute taker)

Public

Hon Freeman Stephen Padfield JP

Christine Padfield

Ian Mortimore

Alison Logan

Tim Cusack

Sari Cusack

Jack Cusack

Charlie Cusack

Bianca Currie

Lucy Currie

Lorraine Lethlean

Jake Cole

Kristie Lee

Rhonda Cole

Lynda Stirrat

Bailey Kuhne-Munroe

	Gina DeLuis
4.0	Declarations of Interest
	Nil
5.0	Public Question Time and Deputation (15 minutes)
	Nil
6.0	Agenda Items
	6.1 Seating Arrangements – by ballot
	The seating plan was determined by ballot.
7.0	Other Business
	Nil
8.0	Closure
	Cr K Mortimore thanked outgoing Shire President Rhonda Cole for her years of service and invaluable knowledge to the Shire during her time on Council.
	There being no further business the Chair declared the meeting closed at 4.15pm.
9.0	Certification of Meeting Minutes
	I, Cr Kellie Mortimore, Shire President certify that the Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council held on Monday 19 October 2021, as show on pages 1 to 5 are confirmed as a true and correct record of the meeting.
	Cr Kellie Mortimore Date SHIRE PRESIDENT

<u>Apologies</u>
David Blurton, Chief Executive Officer

Freeman, Halley Cowan

Mary Cowan Cr A Hardham